5.1 C
New York
Monday, July 22, 2024

PSL 2023: Lahore Qalandars defeat Quetta Gladiators with a score of 63 runs.


As Gladiators lose successive wickets, Qalandars triumph.

In the tenth game of the eighth season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the National Bank Cricket Arena in Karachi, Lahore Qalandars defeated Quetta Gladiators by a score of 63 runs.

After losing Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, and Mohammad Hafeez in short succession for the Gladiators, the Qalandars were able to claim victory.

Being given the opportunity to bat first, Qalandars set a lofty 199-run goal before limiting the Gladiators to 135-8 in 20 overs. Once Jason Roy left, the Gladiators struggled to gain pace in the run-chase.

Iftikhar mistimed his shot and only managed to score six runs in ten balls, falling into Fakhar Zaman’s hands. Sikandar Raza defeated Mohammed Nawaz (2) in the subsequent round. The shot that the left-handed batter skied ended up in Kamran Ghulam’s hands.

Hafeez, a senior batsman, was the next to leave the field but was unable to do so because Shaheen Shah Afridi, the captain, had successfully intercepted his skying shot. The right-handed batsman needed only 22 balls to score 25 runs.

Odean Smith was dismissed by Shaheen after misjudging a slow ball that Rashid caught after he had taken a blinder.

After just scoring nine runs, Qais Ahmed went out after the skipper struck again in his final over.

When the two batters helped the Gladiators overcome an early deficit against the Qalandars, Martin Guptill and Roy left in rapid succession.

Roy, a devastating batsman who scored 48 runs off of 30 balls, was knocked out by Rashid Khan after just seven deliveries for the defending champions.

Abdul Wahid Bangalzai was trapped for a lbw by Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi, who then sent him back to the pavilion.

Bangalzai, a rookie hitter, was dismissed for a golden duck.

By putting on a partnership of 47 runs for the second wicket, Guptill and Roy assisted Gladiators in overcoming the early setback.

However, after hitting 15 runs, Guptill was removed by all-rounder David Wiese.

Shaheen and Wiese both collected three wickets for the reigning champions, while Rashid and Raza each won a victory.

Prior to it, Lahore Qalandars gave Quetta Gladiators a lofty 199-run goal.

With to outstanding batting performances from Shai Hope, Tahir Baig, and Sikandar Raza, the Qalandars scored a total of 199 runs.

Gladiators made a comeback in the middle stages of the innings by grabbing quick wickets against Qalandars after a strong start to the innings by the reigning champions.

Despite losing two wickets after losing their opening batsmen, Tahir and Fakhar Zaman, the Qalandars continued to bat.

Fakhar and Tahir, Lahore’s openers, were both lost in quick succession. 49 runs were made by the pair for the first wicket.

Odean Smith, however, ordered the left-handed batter to return to the pavilion despite his 22 runs off of 14 balls. Subsequently, Tahir, who had scored 31 runs in only 15 balls, was sent out by Mohammad Nawaz.

Hope and Kamran Ghulam formed a fantastic 56-run partnership for the third wicket after the two openers left the field, but Kamran was bowled by Qais Ahmed after making 21 runs.

Hope kept hitting the ball well, but his countryman Odean outplayed him and got the better of him, sending him packing after scoring 47 runs.

Hussain Talat, an all-around player, had a strong outing and scored 26 runs, but he was dismissed by Afghan spinner Qais because he couldn’t extend his innings.

“Pace ace” With a beauty of a delivery that struck the middle stump, Mohammad Hasnain struck in the 18th over and knocked out the dangerous hitter David Wiese (1).

Near the end of the inning, Raza contributed significantly by scoring 32 runs off just 16 pitches.

Qais, Odean, and Nawaz each grabbed two wickets for Quetta, while Hasnain and Nawaz each claimed one.

Using XIs

Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hafeez, Odean Smith, Iftikhar Ahmed, Martin Guptill, Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Jason Roy, and Qais Ahmed are among the Quetta Gladiators’ key players.

Fakhar Zaman, Tahir Baig, Shai Hope, Kamran Ghulam, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, and Zaman Khan are the Lahore Qalandars.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this

How to Find Barclays Bank Phone Number

In the fast-paced world of finance, having quick and...

Punjab begins a very strict crackdown as cases of vision loss increase

No hospital, laboratory, or pharmacy in Pakistan has a...

Elections are possible without Imran Khan: Kakar

Last week, the ECP announced that general elections will...

IHC orders authorities to shift Imran Khan to Adiala jail

Court orders Khan's shifting as he is now under...